Metro Manila · Holidays in 2016

Calendar_zoom_image "/var/ezdemo_site/storage/images/media/manila/images-manila/local-life/cuisine-culture-and-arts/calendar_zoom_image/1365346-1-eng-GB/Calendar_zoom_image_zoom_image.jpg" 2000 1124 Calendar_zoom_image

The Philippines has a high number of holidays throughout the year, most of them to celebrate religious festivities or national heroes. Here is the list of nationwide holidays in 2016.

So far the Presidential Palace Malacañang has announced 19 holidays for 2016. Many of them fall on a weekend this year, but the government often moves these holidays on a Friday or Monday on short notice, giving the people a long weekend. The Philippines usually declares the Islamic holidays Eid’l Fitr and Eidul Adha as public holidays as well. The exact dates depend on the Islamic calendar and will be announced later in the year.

Note also that workers earn double their pay for that day when they work on a regular holiday. Those who work on special non-working days get 130 percent of their salary for those days.

Date   Holiday  Type
January 1 (Friday) New Year  Regular Holiday
January 2 (Saturday) Additional Special Non-Working Day Special Non-working Day
February 8 (Monday) Chinese New Year Special Non-working Day 
February 25 (Thursday) EDSA People Power Revolution  Special Non-Working Day
March 24 (Thursday) Maundy Thursday  Regular Holiday 
March 25 (Friday) Good Friday  Regular Holiday 
March 26 (Saturday) Black Saturday  Special Non-Working Day
April 9 (Saturday) Araw ng Kagitingan  Regular Holiday
May 1 (Sunday) Labor Day  Regular Holiday
May 9 (Monday) National Elections Special Non-Working Day
June 12 (Sunday) Independence Day  Regular Holiday
August 21 (Sunday) Ninoy Aquino Day  Special Non-Working Day
August 29 (Monday) National Heroes' Day Regular Holiday
October 31 (Monday)   Additional Special Non-Working Day
November 1 (Tuesday) All Saints Day  Special Non-Working Day 
November 30 (Wednesday)   Bonifacio Day Regular Holiday
December 24 (Saturday) Christmas Eve Special Non-Working Day
December 25 (Sunday) Christmas Day Regular Holiday
December 30 (Friday) Rizal Day Regular Holiday
December 31 (Saturday) New Year’s Eve Special Non-Working Holiday